RSS

What do you have on your fishing lanyard?

22 Oct

After a short period of paying particular attention to the equipment or tools that people put on their lanyards it does not take long to realize that lanyards and the tools they carry are as unique as the user.  We all have our favorite piece of equipment and tools we will never dare enter the water without.  While a few seem to carry the kitchen sink on their lanyards.  I would consider my lanyard to be simple, with the exception of one luxury item.  My lanyard carries a pair of Able Nippers, Orvis Forceps with scissors, a Ty-Rite, and our Universal Tippet Caddy ™.

My simple, yet effective Stainless Steel Lanyard.

The Abel Nippers were a gift from the wife, hands down the best nippers I have used thus far.  They make quick work of anything up to 100lb braided line.  I accidentally purchased the Orvis Forceps with scissors while looking for forceps with a split shot jaw, really had no use for the scissors at the time.  But since then, the scissor portion has been used far more often than the split shot jaws.  I use the scissors to trim everything from line to indicators and flies.  Of course the Universal Tippet Caddy ™ is a must, between breaking off on snags and changing flies I reach for tippet more frequently than the forceps.  Last but not least, my Ty-Rite.  Yeah I know what your thinking, but honestly it saves me more time on the water than you can imagine.  Since most of my fishing is done dead of winter, frozen numb fingers makes it a challenge to tie size 20 and smaller midges.  Now that you have an idea about what I have on my lanyard lets take a look at a few others.

Pro-Staff member Dave Hise with his Carbon Fiber Lanyard

As you can see from the picture above pro-staff member Dave Hise carries the basics of nippers, nail knot tool, forceps (not pictured), and our Universal Tippet Caddy ™.  The most notable difference in Dave’s configuration is the addition of magnetic tool releases. As basic as this seems Ryan Dunne takes the cake on simplicity.

Pro-Staff member Ryan Dunne with the most basic of Stainless Steel Lanyards.

Pro-Staff member Ryan Dunne practices the K.I.S.S. (Keep It Simple Stupid) theory with his lanyard.  Ryan merely carries our Universal Tippet Caddy ™, nippers, and floatant while fishing from a boat.  On the complete opposite end of the spectrum, Nick Garlock puts his Stainless Steel Lanyard to work!

Pro-Staff Member Nick Garlock's fully loaded Stainless Steel Lanyard.

Recall that I said some people carry the kitchen sink on their lanyards, if you look closely at the picture above you can actually see the kitchen sink on Pro-Staff Member Nick Garlock’s Stainless Steel Lanyard.  From what I can tell it appears that Nick carries a couple bottles of floatant, a fly dryer / leader straightener, nippers, a nail knot tool, Kethcum Release, and of course our Universal Tippet Caddy ™ even while in a boat.  Pictured below are examples of what Pro-Staff Member Derek Young and John Dollar carry on their MooseKnuckle Lanyards.

Pro-Staff member Derek Young with a nice Cutthroat while using just the basics on his Stainless Steel Lanyard.

John Dollars' prototype MooseKnuckle Lanyard during field testing.

As the title indicates, what do you have on your fly fishing lanyard?  By simply subscribing to our blog, liking our Facebook page or following us on Twitter, and posting a comment below that answers the question, “What do or would you have on your fishing lanyard?” you will be entered in a random drawing for the very first giveaway of a MooseKnuckle Lanyards Universal Tippet Caddy ™ to be held December 1st.  (Only those who complete all three requirements will be be eligible to win.  Be sure to include either your Facebook or Twitter name in your post)

 
19 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2011 in Fishing, Gear, Giveaways

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

19 responses to “What do you have on your fishing lanyard?

  1. martyng

    October 23, 2011 at 4:33 am

    “What would ! have on my fishing lanyard?” At present I have a total mess hung around my neck; a pair of clippers, either floatant or sinkant, spare tippet, a “priest”, forceps, etc., and most of them are on separate loops and lanyards. I rattle so much when I’m moving that I scare all the fish in a 100 yard radius.

    So what would I have on my lanyard? I have peace and quiet, total bliss, able to just “zen out” and fish, and be able find the correct tool whenever I needed it….

     
  2. Eunan Hendron

    October 23, 2011 at 8:15 am

    Severe lack of lanyard here means i have a bunch of stuff in pockets – Standard fare, tippet, nippers, forceps, flies….A tippet caddy would be a welcome addition.
    FB- Eunan Hendron

     
  3. Christopher Woodard

    October 23, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    Currently, I’m carrying Orvis Forceps, a Cliff Straight N Dry, a bottle of Loon Aquel, Cheap-o nippers, and my lucky rabbit’s foot (seriously)! However, if I win the caddy, I’ll have to remove two items. Obviously, the “Straight N Dry” gets moved to the waist pack immediately. Now, do I remove the nippers or the lucky rabbit’s foot? I sure do use those nippers a lot, but that rabbit’s foot has caused some serious laughs! I’ll have to think about this one…

    Christopher Woodard (FB)

     
  4. womenhunttoo

    October 25, 2011 at 9:15 am

    My Lanyard has a mini flashlight, needle nose pliers, pink clippers 🙂 that all comes standard but its subject to change with my moods..lol

    Dawn Freeland
    Women Fish Too

     
  5. Fly Fishing Crazy

    October 25, 2011 at 10:19 am

    My brown carbon MooseKnuckle Lanyard is adorned with a pair of hemostats, a leader straightener, nippers, hook threader, bottle of floatant, W&M split shot dispenser, and a (not so universal) tippet dispenser. Oh, and a couple of go-to flies stuck in the foam.

    Jeremy… you are doing a great job of promoting your product. Many fly fishers I’ve talked to in CO have heard of your Lanyards.

    Tight Lines——-<
    Larry V Snyder
    Publisher – http://www.flyfishingcrazy.com
    The World's Best Little On-Line Fly Shop & MooseKnuckle Dealer

     
  6. Tony Catalde (@beardedboar)

    October 25, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    Currently I do not have a lanyard. I fish with the Patigonia Hip/Chest pack and thats it. Forcepts are clipped to my waders and all I need is in my bag. But it is a pain when you are in hugh water or when I’m on my Diablo Paddlesport adios. Maybe its time to accessorize with a Mooseknuckle.

     
  7. Brian LeBars

    October 25, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    I’m in the camp of no lanyard. It is appealing the thought of not having to carry around a hip bag. Currently I have my forcepts and nipper on my bag. Having my tippiet and flotant more accessible would be GREAT! Thanks guys!

     
  8. Ed Smith

    October 25, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    I would have forcepts and a nipper. Some flotant and some tippet.. And also a bottle opener….

     
  9. kettlefisher

    October 25, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    forceps, nippers, pliers to crush barbs, Gink, Zink, Chap Stik, and whatever else finds itself on there including spiders, bird poop etc.

     
  10. Jason Stolzer

    October 29, 2011 at 5:19 am

    Just the basics. Hemostats, tippet and tiefast tool.

     
  11. Chris Schatte

    October 30, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Tippet, 4 spools, forceps, nipper, hi-float and stripper. Tie tools are on my pack.

     
  12. Chris Hartmann

    October 30, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    I dont have a Lanyard, Thou I really do need one. I try to shove all I can in my vest 4 or 5 tippits, 4 hemostats 2 on out side of vest and 2 inside. I endup losing 2 every trip so have to have a few backups. Need something to keep everything save and easy to get to!

     
  13. Rachel Hillis (@rachhillis)

    October 30, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    On my lanyard, I have floatant in a Fishpond holder, William Joseph nippers, two forceps – short Orvis and a heavier duty Streamworks, and a Fishy Kid whistle. I think they would all look a lot better on a Mooseknuckle lanyard.

     
  14. gobuffs76

    October 30, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    I currently dont have a lanyard. I havd an old fanny pack that is on its last leg. On my lanyard, I guess I would have nippers, forceps, floatant, small fly box. I like it simple when I fish.

    Angelo Castro FB

     
  15. Brian Kozminski

    November 8, 2011 at 8:27 am

    I, like Nick Garlock, carry two types of floatant, hemo’s, Orvis Nippers, Fishpond Thermometer, Korker’s quik change wrench, and my nail-knot tool. All my tippet is on a separate spool caddy. Tight Lines~
    Koz

     
  16. tnfishdaddy (@tnfishdaddy)

    November 29, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    Nothing. I am hoping to get one for Christmas. I have dropped all the hints I can. It’s up to my wife now. If I get one for Christmas, it will have hemostats, tippet, nippers and a small fly box.

     
  17. Greg Feder (@GSFeder)

    November 30, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    OK, so I’m your friend and I follow you on Twitter (I’m @GSFeder). I started using a lanyard I made from wooden beads strung on an old MTB brake cable when it was too hot for my chestpack/ backpack this summer. I have too much, but I use it all: hemos on a zinger, nippers w/ ty-rite built in, leader straightener, threader for those tiny flies, tippet spools hanging off some paracord, and floatant. A tippet caddy would be awesome so that stuff wouldn’t flop around. Please pick me!!

     
  18. Jeff Rosmon

    November 30, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    Jeff Rosmon

    My MooseKnuckle Lanyard holds hemostats, a leader straightener, hook threader, bottle of floatant, nippers, and a homemade tippet dispenser, which doesn’t sit right on my lanyard. I tried to get one of the samples from you at the show, but I was unsuccessful…lol. I have had a few comment on it and send them your way. Nice sticker also.

     
  19. Fontinalis Rising

    November 30, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    My Mooseknuckle lanyard has a cheap tippet caddy, a Doc Slick’s hemo/multi-tool, a Gink dispenser, two nippers, a Stream Works lanyard fly box, and a Tie Fast knot tool.

     

Leave a Reply

 
