RSS

Fly Tying: Burnt Wings

23 Dec

I picked two mayfly wing burners from J:Son Sweden company. I hadn’t ever done any wing burning before so why not start now. Right? So my first few wings that I made from the colored wing material didn’t quite turn out. So I decided to try my hand at burning some feather wings. I started out with some dark dun cdc. By the way, I should mention I have a sneaking suspicion that leader twist may be an issue with all of these patterns. However; it’s a chance I’m willing to take for the learning aspect of all of it. With my next attempt a cdc wings I’ll look for finer stemmed feathers as I think that would certainly help.

CDC Burnt Wing Dun

TMC 900bl #16, Yellow 70 UTC, 4 Microfibbets, Sulphur Orange Turkey Biot, Burnt Natural Dark Dun CDC Feathers, CDC hackle make from twisting CDC fibers using split thread technique.

 

Photobucket Photobucket

Teal & CDC Sulphur

TMC 900bl #16, Yellow 70 UTC, 4 Microfibbets, Sulphur Orange Turkey Biot, Teal Flank Feathers Burnt, CDC hackle made from twisting Natural Tan CDC using split thread technique.
PhotobucketPhotobucket I do like the mottled effect that the teal feathers give off.

Teal & CDC BWO

TMC 111 #16 (very short shank fly here is about a size 20 with a size 16 hook), Olive Dun 8/0 Uni, 2 Microfibbets, Olive Turkey Biot, Teal Flank Feathers Burnt, CDC hackel made from twisting Natural Dark Dun CDC using split thread technique.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Until the next time,
Happy Tying

Josh McFadden

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2011 in Fly Tying

 

2 responses to “Fly Tying: Burnt Wings

  1. Chris Schatte

    December 23, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    Looking to start tying my own flies. Would appreciate any suggestions where to start. Vise, etcetera.

     
    • mcfaddenjosh

      December 23, 2011 at 9:37 pm

      Start by getting only the mayerials to tie the flies you would use most often. Buy a good vice to begin with a griffin spyder vice is a nice place to start. Ceramic bobbin, good tying scissors, matarelli whip finisher. Stay away from kits the tools are junk. That would give you a really good start. Watch youtube tying tutorials you can learn how to tie anything you want there. Cheers and Merry Christmas. Happy tying!

       

Leave a Reply

 
